Forte 4.2

Post here if you are having a problem with or a question about forte that is not about a plugin or audio/MIDI hardware.

Moderator: MikeG

Lucien
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: France

Forte 4.2

Postby Lucien » Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:24 am

Hi Mike.

Forte 4.2.0 and 4.2.1 don't run in my laptop (Alienware W7 X64 / 16Go / SSD 256 / RME UCX)
Installation ok, but does not start. Crash immediately. Even in safe mode.
I never had this problem on this machine since Forte 2.
I reinstalled Forte 4.19 and, is OK.
What's new in 4.2 Forte which can cause this?

On my old desktop PC ( W7 X32 / 2Go / Realtec AC97 / Asio4all) Forte 4.2 is OK
An idea?

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby MikeG » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:50 pm

are you able to submit a crash report (does it offer?)
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Lucien
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: France

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby Lucien » Mon Apr 04, 2016 1:34 am

Forte immediately crash. alone, even without load a scene.
Not the time to generate a crash report...

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby MikeG » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:49 pm

I'm almost certain its related to the new PortAudio.dll WASAPI support.

Is this 32 bit or 64 bit Forte?

Mike
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Lucien
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: France

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby Lucien » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:09 am

Forte 64 bit.
It does seem that there have no audio initialization when Forte start.
I tried to disconnect my RME UCX and connect my old Echo indigo, but, it's the same thing.
What is the solution ?
An update for Forte / change a setting in Windows / remain at version 4.19 to life :cry:

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby MikeG » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:10 am

No - we will get it fixed - I just have to reproduce it first.

Can you look to see if there's a OS-generated dump file? Please check these instructions: http://feedback.brainspawn.com/knowledg ... t-manually
See the bottom where it says If the Forte Crash Submission Dialog does NOT appear.

..and are you configured to use ASIO drivers?

Thanks.

Mike
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Lucien
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: France

Re: Forte 4.2

Postby Lucien » Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:19 pm

I use ASIO drivers.

I managed to put the registry key "LocalDumps" in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting".
With Forte 4.2, Windows generated a file .dmp.
I've sent to support@brainspawn.com
Hope it will help you understand the problem.


Return to “Forte and EHCo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Patriothtq and 2 guests