FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Post here if you encounter problems using a plugin in forte

Moderator: MikeG

Ken
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:54 pm

FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Postby Ken » Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:57 pm

Sonalksis plugin FreeG - needed to add a master fader. Trying to control the bus volume. Wish I could load the plugin!!
Any help would be appreciated...

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Postby evilantal » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:12 am

Hmmm...FreeG hasn't given me any problem adding it to the rack in the past.

BUT...FreeG is not such a good option to control bus volumes. It introduces the dread zipper noise when used in realtime. An alternative to use is forte's built-in Automated Fader or Dirk Offringa's Basic Strip (although 32-bit only).
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

Ken
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Postby Ken » Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:10 pm

Yeah, I read about that zipper noise. Don't want that...

I looked at the simple fader on Dirk's old pages and thought, "looks like it's worth trying!" However, the link to download the simple fader is dead. Bummer.

yamus
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:36 am

Re: FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Postby yamus » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:00 am

Dirk was on recently, you might try a private message to him.

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FreeG shows in vst directory after scan but can't add...

Postby evilantal » Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:01 am

What sort of functionality would you need beyond that which brainspawn's included Automated Fader ha?

There's also GVST GGain to try
or BlueCat's Gain Suite (which I use in addition to the native fader plugin)
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects


Return to “Plugin Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests