Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Post here if you are having a problem with or a question about forte that is not about a plugin or audio/MIDI hardware.

Moderator: MikeG

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:36 pm

Hi,

i started a plugin scan in forte. Forte hangs on the following vsti's:
Kontakt3, Pro 53, Guitar Rig, Akoustik Piano....
The problem is, these Plugins I'm using in my rcf-File for the next gig.
I tried several things....

Please, is there an option, that i can set, so that forte doesn't hang on plugin scan?

THX
Steffen

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:16 am

Hi Mike,

I've send many Crash reports.
Is there a Chance to get it to working?

THX

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:08 pm

mhhh....
So many views and not one reply.... :-(

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby evilantal » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:53 am

Well...I, for one, don't know how to help you. I've never had this before.
Is there anything in the plugin crash or ignored plugin tabs in the Plugin Manager after running the scan?
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:06 am


evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby evilantal » Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:18 am

That's this manual article...
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

yamus
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:36 am

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby yamus » Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:30 pm

Try moving all your VSTs out of your main folder, and scan a small group at a time. See if you can find which plugin might be causing the problem.

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:55 am


evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby evilantal » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:55 am

Is it a coincidence that they're all NI plugins or are you using only NI plugins in your rack?
I use Kontakt 5 and have been using it for ages, you'd think Kontakt 3 would also work.

What forte version are you using? 64bit or 32bit? Are you using jbridge to use the 32-bit plugins in a 64-bit environment?
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:40 am

Hi,
I have native instruments komplete, but an older version.
All ni plugins are well scanned by Forte, only kontakt3, akoustikpiano, and guitar right, produce this error. Even older ni plugins like kompakt, fm7 are working.
All works OK for me, since I have my vsts completely new scanned in Forte.

lancaster6
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:10 pm

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby lancaster6 » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:08 pm

shot in the dark, are you running windows defender?
that used to increase my startup time by 8 minutes. disable it and try again.

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:14 pm

Thx, Windows defender is disabled.

Mr Beverage
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:39 am

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Mr Beverage » Sat Sep 05, 2015 7:24 am


Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby Bono Best » Sat Sep 05, 2015 7:32 am

If Windows defender is disabled, my rack file and plugins are loading faster.
But the problem with vsts scanning was still there.
I renamed these plugin files (Kontakt 3.5, Akoustik Piano....), that solved my problem for the first time.
Yesterday i had a gig. Forte does not crash, but it hangs at the first time at start. So i Had to reboot my PC.

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Forte hangs hours on plugin scan

Postby MikeG » Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:32 pm

I have not been able to reproduce any crashes discovering NI plugins. Did you say it worked when you completely rescanned? If its hanging, when you restart it should note that it was working on a specific plugin and offer to quarantine it.
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.


Return to “Forte and EHCo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests