How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Post here if you are having a problem with or a question about forte that is not about a plugin or audio/MIDI hardware.

Moderator: MikeG

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby Bono Best » Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:02 pm

Hi,

This is the entry for Superwave
<Plugin>
<CLSID>{1177D061-9E2D-4FF1-A6D4-6930EC21AB26}</CLSID>
<Vendor>Superwave</Vendor>
<Name>-Pro</Name>
<ShortName>Superwave-Pro</ShortName>
<CustomName></CustomName>
<FileName>C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\superwave-bundle\Superwave-Pro.dll</FileName>
<Type>VSTi</Type>
<Bits>32</Bits>
<Age>73</Age>
<VSTUniqueID>53575054</VSTUniqueID>
</Plugin>


for my superwave plugins i have to set like this
<Device Name="KarmaFX">
<saveFXB bool="0"/>
<saveFXP bool="1"/>
<saveProgramNumber bool="0"/>
<saveParams bool="0"/>
</Device>

Can someone say me, where and what i have to place in the plugins.xml file?
Forte set the complete plugins.xml to the defaukt entries, after closing it.
Thank you so much

the problem is, that forte overwrites (delete) my entries at every start.

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby Bono Best » Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:35 pm

I'm very unhappy....
So many Problems, crashes .... and no support from developers.
I've joined forte 2003... and now a have to say good by....

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby evilantal » Thu Sep 03, 2015 1:30 am

These settings go in the DeviceCompatability.xml instead of the plugins.xml

Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby Bono Best » Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:02 pm

Thank you! 8)
But i have so many problems now...
Like this


Bono Best
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby Bono Best » Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:50 am


MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby MikeG » Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:27 pm

Correct - plugins.xml is Forte's to modify as it discovers plugins. DeviceCompatibility is the user file you can customize (Forte doesn't write this.)

Sorry for the troubles Bono - I'll read your posts.
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Burtan
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby Burtan » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:11 am

I think the DeviceCompatibility.xml file is overwritten when Forte is updated. So keep a copy of it.

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: How i have to set values in plugins.xml (forte overwrite my settings at every start and close)

Postby MikeG » Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:04 pm

Good point - I could change it to not do that but then it would be hard to get people updated with new copies.

I'll bug this up as an installer enhancement.
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.


Return to “Forte and EHCo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests