Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Post here if you are having a problem with or a question about forte that is not about a plugin or audio/MIDI hardware.

Moderator: MikeG

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:27 pm

DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC) is supplied with software & can be used as a VST plugin. For an LED lighting rig, I think scene changes can be made via MIDI program changes and CCs. Can this be done with Forte?.....as in changing from song to song, the lighting scene will change with the Forte scene??

maybe a silly question, but I was just wondering if any one has used Forte in this fashion along with playing music live on stage?

Thanks for your help.
Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Sat Nov 12, 2011 5:12 pm

Hi

Yes, that can perfectly be done in forte, there are several ways to achieve that with the DMXIS interface. I'm contemplating the purchase of that product too, I have messed around with the software a bit, I think it's a cool solution for small bands and entertainers that can't afford a lighting engineer. Simple and efficient. I missed the fact that there was no layering possible but it seems a beta is currently being tested that does layering.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:41 pm

Would Ehco be needed?
Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:16 pm

Thanks for your previous reply.
I need some help. I need to prep for a show immediately, to have ready by Tuesday for rehearsal.
I have a five piece band.....and yes, this lighting rig sounds great and it is on it's way to me via mail. Here is my keyboard rig; a Studio Blade made by MusicComputing.com. It's got faders and controllers I think I can use for the lighting side. Do I use BOTH the Ehco and Forte Performer programs together?

I also have 2 TC-Helicon Voicelive Racks that I want to change programs on as well (to different programs each per song).

Help much appreciated.
Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby MikeG » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:30 pm

It depends. ECHo is used to send MIDI out of Forte, but if this DMXIS VST plugin opens its own MIDI outputs, it might handle the output itself. If not, Forte has a way to route MIDI back out of a plugin and back into other plugins like EHCo as a Virtual MIDI Input (VMI).
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:01 am

Hi

To use DMXIS, you don't need EHco: the software controls the hardware over it's own protocol. To send PC's to the external TC racks, you will need to use EHCo.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:50 am

Great, Thanks for the info.

I can't seem to open ECHo in Forte v3.0 beta....not supported yet?
Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby MikeG » Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:57 pm

See other thread. It should be supported but its not a VST.
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:52 pm

Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:17 pm

Yes I did (without the hardware attached, I downloaded the sofware). It complains about the hardware not being found, but it loads and works as expected. You did do a "quick scan/add plugin" in the plugin manager, didn't you?

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:01 pm

yes--& I see the plugin in the Plugin Manager in the tab "Vst Plugins", but it doesn't show up in the drop down menu "Add Instrument"
Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:51 am

Then it's not a VSTi (I don't have it here to check), but a regular VST, in which case you must add an audio input to your rack, and insert the DMXIS vst in its insert chain.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:54 am

Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:27 pm

What sort of crash exactly?

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:53 pm

I installed the latest version of DMXIS and indeed crashed at one of my first edits. I sent the report to Mike. I'll see if I can find a reproductible pattern.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

bonivta

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby bonivta » Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:50 am

My mac says DMxis hardware interface cannot detect, I can see usb has the light but the software doesnt recognise the hardware. using Mac os 10.6.8
Any ideas please advice.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:18 am

Hi,

I'm sorry but this is not the right place for this question: these are the brainspawn forte support forums. You should send your request to Enttec's support. They have an active mailing list.

Good luck
Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rank
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby rank » Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:14 pm

Open Labs Neko (modded)
Forte' 3 64bit (v 3.2.12)
Win 7 x64 | 6 Core Processor | 24 Gigs Ram | Presonus Fire Studio snd-crd
NI Komplete 8 | SyntMaster 2 | Tone 2 Saurus | Omnisphere |

Dave Brown

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dave Brown » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:37 am


Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Lighting Rig: DMXIS hardware interface (made by ENTTEC)

Postby Dirk Offringa » Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:21 am

Hi Dave,

cool to have you around here! I simply did this:
I tried to reproduce a crash, but didn't manage to trigger one (yet?), but there is some weird stuff going on like faders appearing to be grouped although they aren't (e.g. move a slider, another one moves as well: we need to select the phantom slider to un-link it; sometimes this is a fixed slider (whichever one we move, #26 will respond as well) sometimes it's #(selected+N) (move #7, #9 will move as well, move #10, #12 will move as well).

I'll do some deeper testing trying to provide you with something repoductible, but probably after the holidays!

Dirk
PS wasn't that you who did Flying Haggis? I loved that plugin!
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.


Return to “Forte and EHCo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests