sdd drives/hybrids

Post here if you are having problems with audio or MIDI hardware within forte

Moderator: MikeG

lancaster6
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:10 pm

sdd drives/hybrids

Postby lancaster6 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:50 pm

any1 using these? if so do the samples still need to load into ram, or can they be played right from the disk? the hybrids are large and affordable, but my load time (to ram) with over 4 gigs of samples at startup is getting annoying.
thx,
L

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: sdd drives/hybrids

Postby Dirk Offringa » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:24 am

I have Intel SSD's in my live PC, and a OCZ Vertex in my laptop. Spectacular improvement! Best computer investment I ever made. I don't even have SATAIII, "only" SATAII but these drives are so lightning fast I don't really see what SATAIII would have improved, given I only use 1 SSD per computer.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

lancaster6
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:10 pm

Re: sdd drives/hybrids

Postby lancaster6 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:48 am

thats what i had hoped to hear. i need a large (512 gig) drive and they are not cheap thats why i was looking at the hybrids. saw a seagate 750 gig for a 1/3 the price, and a 500 gig for under $100! do the samples still have to load into ram, is that where the speed improvement comes in? or can they be accessed directly from the disk?

Burtan
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: sdd drives/hybrids

Postby Burtan » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:56 pm

I'd only take pure SSDs. Kontakt still loads samples into RAM but you can decrease it to the minimum.


Return to “Audio/MIDI Hardware Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests