Aux Bus Set, EHCo, and crunchy audio

Post here if you encounter problems using a plugin in forte

Moderator: MikeG

sosKeys
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:07 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Contact:

Aux Bus Set, EHCo, and crunchy audio

Postby sosKeys » Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:39 am

I use Aux Bus Set LE x64 in my rack and have had recurring, intermittent problems with what I can only describe as crunchy audio output from at least one bus when sending audio from EHCo. There are

four Aux Bus Set returns, routed to four different audio pairs of my MOTU 828 Mk3 (Analog 1-2 for keyboard monitors and ADAT 1-2,3-4,5-6 to the DAW)
four EHCo instances returning audio from four different hardware synths (S90ES, SuperNova II, UltraProteus, and UltraNova).

It took quite awhile to pinpoint the problem, but

a) only EHCo instruments are affected, and not necessarily all of them simultaneously.
b) the Main Outs are unaffected.
c) cycling "Power" to the rack sometimes clears the problem, though usually not
d) changing scenes sometimes clears the problem, though usually not
e) there is no indication of high CPU load
f) increasing the buffer size does not seem to help

Although it is not a complete solution, I found that bypassing the Aux Bus sends to the ADAT outputs for the affected instrument, leaving only Aux Bus 1to the keyboard monitor outs active, resolves the problem (so far). At first, the issue occurred infrequently, but has become more pervasive over time. So far, there have been no instances since disabling the additional Sends.

This behavior has been observed for some time using successive beta and release versions of F3 and EHCo up to 3.2.20 and 2.2.7 respectively. Aux Bus Set LE is the x64 version 2.0.

sosKeys
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:07 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Aux Bus Set, EHCo, and crunchy audio

Postby sosKeys » Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:43 am

Here's my previous post on this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4608

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Aux Bus Set, EHCo, and crunchy audio

Postby evilantal » Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:34 am

I think I might have had something similar that I never found the cause of.
Also using AuxBusses but not EHCo.

I experienced crackling audio sometimes when switching scenes. It went away when power cycling. It always seemed to be a plugin with an AuxBus after it.
The problem disappeared when I stopped using the AuxBusses. Never found the cause and didn't investigate further.

Not of much help, but at least you're not alone...
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects


Return to “Plugin Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest