Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Post here if you encounter problems using a plugin in forte

Moderator: MikeG

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:56 pm

I have the latest versions of Forte & Pianissimo. If I run Pianissimo in standalone mode, there is a Presets drop down menu with 10 presets - Rock Piano, Upright Piano, Concert Hall Grand, etc. However, this menu disappears when Pianissimo is run inside of Forte. Anybody else seen this? Thx.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:45 am

Hi

to determine if this is related to forte as a host, please report what happens in other hosts.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:12 am

Thanks Dirk.

From the host software that I own, Ableton Live Lite 8 also does not show the preset list, yet Band-in-a-Box and Cubase AI4 do. So where do we go from here?

Howie.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:54 am

Could you please post screenshots WITH preset list developed in Cubase? I unfortunately don't have the possibility to download and install the demo version (my office PC is underspec'd and my live PC is in the van).

Thanks
Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:03 pm

Dirk.

Please change extension from .txt to .doc

Hopefully attached is the requested screenshot. Sorry for the delay.

Thanks,
Howie.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:32 am

Ah, OK, we're not talking about a bug then. Operation Manual, page 22, Preset Manager.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:09 pm

Thanks Dirk.

I've been there already, but please see attached..(change txt to doc again).........no presets in sight. I did this with NI B4II same results - at least I can access the preset list directly in B4. Same with Alchemy, it shows a Preset 1 - <unnamed> but nothing else.

Thanks,
Howie.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:33 pm

I downloaded the Alchemy demo and it behaves like you describe in forte, but it does so in Reaper as well, and Nuendo too.
This means that Alchemy doesn't have built-in VST-presets. It has factory presets, but these are in separate files and are loaded by Alchemy proprietary code, not through the VST interface so the host (any host) can't know about these.

I also downloaded the Pianissimo demo, and here I agree that forte doesn't load and display the preset list, whereas Nuendo does. I fiddled around a bit with some settings in devicecompatibility.xml to no avail.

So I think this as a bug allright. Mike?

Dirk

PS great sounding piano, this Pianissimo plugin btw!
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:02 am

Hi Dirk.

Any luck with a fix - I am piano-less.

I'm now on Forte 2.2.18

Thanks,
Howard.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:00 pm

Hi Howard,

The Pianissimo plugin is really worth the effort to make it work, it's a really fine instrument, but this is beyond my scope of intervention: only Mike can do something about it at this point.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:34 am

Hi Dirk/Mike.

I downloaded versions Beta 2.25 and 3, but still no fix - any chance at all? If not, I'll have to invest in some other host software or VST piano.

I've been 'quality' piano-less for 7 months and using free VST pianos - my band mates aren't too happy.

Cheers,
Howard.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:40 am

Hi Howard,

I don't know if Mike has had the time to look into this. In the meantime, maybe you could try to wrap the plugin EnergyXT, and see how that works? JBridge it maybe (not sure of that one)

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rrgane
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby rrgane » Tue May 15, 2012 12:29 pm

Just noticed this thread, and have a solution if any are still having an issue with this:

Go into stand alone mode, Goto the preset you like (and mess around with it if you feel like it), then save it off as an .FXP

Then go into Forte and load the .FXP you saved off, not exactly the most elegant solution, but it does work

rrgane
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby rrgane » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:18 am

I just got a email from Howie..

"Hi. Many thanks for your post. However, I don't see where I can save a
preset as an .FXP file in Pianissimo, only as MIDI. Can you elaborate
please.
Thanks, Howie."

..and didn't know how else to respond so I am replying here.

So, I realize now, after going through my solution, that Howie was right there is no way to save off a preset as an .fxp within Pianissimo (I guess I had done that within Reaper and didn't realize it). So, what you will need is another host. TobyBear's Mini Host should do just fine and is free:

http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/M ... 86363.html

Just download this, and unzip it to a folder, and then double click the Minihost.exe file, there is no installing or anything it is just a simple test host. After the nag screen, click the VST on the toolbar go find your pianissimo.dll file and open it, there you can call up the preset you want and then save it off as an .fxp under Preset on the toolbar (I would save it in the same folder as the pianissimo.dll, just to keep track of it). Of course if you have Reaper, Sonar, Cubase etc. you can do the same thing for any of those hosts, just TobyBear's Minihost is free and easy.

music331
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby music331 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:10 am

rrgane.

Thank you so much, this works a treat!

Howie.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby Dirk Offringa » Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:41 am

Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

rrgane
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Acoustica Pianissimo w/Forte

Postby rrgane » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:22 pm

Hey Howie!

Glad I could help.. Pianissimo is a great little piano plugin, it's too bad it doesn't work a bit more intuitively, but this workaround isn't that intensive.

Randy


Return to “Plugin Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests