KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Post here if you encounter problems using a plugin in forte

Moderator: MikeG

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby evilantal » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:34 am

I've been trying out KarmaFX Synth (http://karmafx.net/) and it's a fabulous plugin.

However there seems to be an issue with forte.
The plugin isn't recognised as a VST by forte.

I can get around this issue by loading energyXT in forte and loading KarmaFX Synth in energyXT.
Due to resource issues I'd rather not take this route however.

Any ideas as to why this instrument can't be used in forte directly?
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:13 am

If you're on Win7-32bit try to run forte as admin, there seems to be an issue with some plugins, and some users report succes with that method.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby evilantal » Wed Apr 28, 2010 7:24 am

Thanks for the reply Dirk

Unfortunately I'm not on Win7 but Windows XP SP3 32-bit... :(
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby MikeG » Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:46 am

What does plugin manager report as the cause of the error (and make sure you are using the latest build - there's more detail in plugin manager about rejections)?

Mike
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

Dirk Offringa
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:44 am
Location: Sainte Anastasie, France
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:00 pm

Mike, I come to suspect some graphics library issue affecting a quite lot of plugins. FWIW.

Dirk
Life would be much easier if I had the source code.

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby MikeG » Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:58 pm

The problem here is that the plugin has 4 inputs, and Forte doesn't know what to do with them.

Mike
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.

evilantal
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby evilantal » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:15 am

That explains it then...

I guess I'll have to keep hosting it within energyXT

Thanks for the legwork gentlemen!
Lenovo Z500, quad core i7 3632QM, 16GB 1600MHz DDR3, RME BabyFace, Samsung EVO SSD x2, forte 4, Kawai ES100, Kurzweil PC2, VB3, Alchemy, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, Diva, ZebraHZ, Bazille, Pianoteq 5 Standard, Falcon, various effects

MikeG
Posts: 3936
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:56 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: KarmaFX Synth not recognised as VST

Postby MikeG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:50 am

I'd be interested in knowing what other hosts do with them. I'd like to support this if possible.
----------------
Mike (brainspawn)
www.brainspawn.com/support

PLEASE NOTE that the forum is not monitored as frequently as the support site above. This forum is intended primarily as a way for users to ask other users questions about the use of Forte.


Return to “Plugin Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest