issues with forte, line 6 toneport and Studio Devil

Post here if you encounter problems using a plugin in forte

Moderator: MikeG

Goblinking

issues with forte, line 6 toneport and Studio Devil

Postby Goblinking » Tue May 19, 2009 9:00 am

Hello all,

I'm a gigging bassist and I use my laptop as my bass amp.

My rig goes like this. - i/o - Toneport ux2 (old one).

Midi controller - Pod xt Live (footboard)

Vst Host - Brainspawne Forte

Main Vst - Studio Devil.

Basically I plug into and out of the toneport, use the pod xt live as a footboard and use Forte as a VST host, I use Studio Devil as a primary Bass Amp (with lots of other vst's to taste). I investigated this model, using Demo's and cracked software (I know, naughty, naughty) on my old (single core) Laptop and after much studio use/testing decided to fork out for legitimate everything (including a new dual core laptop).

Now my problem ) is that the Toneport now "drops out" or becomes invisible to forte mid session (causing Forte to crash) Studio devil also asks you to re-register mid session too.

Do any of you know why this may be happening? I'm due out on the road on Thursday and this is a real ball ache.
To confirm I am now using No Cracks or illegal software.
Cheers

Goblinking

Re: issues with forte, line 6 toneport and Studio Devil

Postby Goblinking » Wed May 20, 2009 5:23 am

Hello again.

It would appear that I have resolved my issues by increasing the ASIO buffer size. This has made the forte/toneport relationship much more stable without increasing latency.

I would like to take this point to point out that forte was the ONLY vst host/amp sim to allow tap-tempo control to VST's (including third party), very useful when improvising.

Cheers

Dirk Offringa

Re: issues with forte, line 6 toneport and Studio Devil

Postby Dirk Offringa » Wed May 20, 2009 6:21 am

Hi

Glad to hear your issue is solved. Would you mind sharing with us what the exact settings were involved in this particular problem?